New Look for Built-In Bookshelf

Tidy Tuesday is a weekly post series on the subject of home. I’ll talk about any remodeling / decorating of my house to tips to help you get your house organized to decorating tips.

20140708_085754

When we bought our house several years ago, the built-in bookshelf in our living room was a ‘very pretty’ color. I wasn’t a big fan of the sea green on the shelf. What do you think?  We took the picture below during a walk through of the house before we officially bought it. So the decor isn’t mine.

246754_712496359759_1133082_n

We finally painted the built-in bookshelf last year in September a dark gray color. What a big difference! We love the gray way better than the sea green. The decor looks great against the dark gray. Below is a close up of the before and after of the bookshelf.

20130901_193205

20130901_193214

Since the built-in bookshelf had a face lift, I wanted to find more decor to fill the many shelves. For awhile, there was mostly picture frames and books decorating the bookshelf. Finding the perfect decor can take awhile. One of the colors for the decor that I looked for is white. White will look great against the dark gray.

Recently, I completed the new look for my built-in bookshelf. I found couple decor items at TJ Maxx. I bought a white vase with glass stones about a month ago. Last week, I was walking by the display in the front of the store and I saw this white sphere. I loved it right away and I knew it would be perfect for my bookshelf.

20140708_090549

20140708_090645

20140708_090342

20140708_090432

As you can see by the view of the whole built-in bookshelf, the bottom two shelves are empty. Since I have a toddler running around the house (Sophia loves to get into things), the shelves are empty on purpose.

20140708_085948

Among my decor, I love to display pictures of my girls and my husband and I. Katie‘s, Sophia‘s, and our wedding albums are also displayed. Since I was able to add more decor to my bookshelf, I added the right amount of books to put on display. I didn’t want my bookshelf filled with lots of books.

20140708_090029

20140708_090218

20140708_090311

What do you think of the new look of the built-in bookshelf? Do you love the new paint color? Doesn’t the white decor look great against the dark gray of the bookshelf?

9 thoughts on “New Look for Built-In Bookshelf

  1. So much better than the green color you inherited! It looks much more updated! I’ve got the same bottom empty shelf thing going on in my house too…

  2. Thank you for sharing this post at City of Creative Dream’s City of Links last Friday! I loved this post so much that I chose it to be featured for this weeks party. 🙂 Go grab a button you deserve it!

  3. Pingback: Fall Decorations 2014 | Home is Where the Heart is

Leave a Reply

