Guest Post: Carrie’s Weight Loss Success Story

True Love Thursday is a weekly post series on the subject of love. I’ll talk about loving yourself and others to ways to making yourself a better person.

Last week, we talked about the excuse a lot of Moms make – no time to exercise. I shared with you my story of what I did to make time to exercise. This week on the blog, my friend Carrie, is going to share her weight loss success story. Carrie and I went to high school together. She is a mother to two adorable toddlers and she knows how hard it can be to find the time to exercise. Check out her story!


Hi everyone! My name is Carrie Lou and I am a very busy 25 year old mom!

IMG_49123267564370

Let me tell you a little bit about myself:

I have two beautiful children who are an absolute blessing in my life.

Before I got pregnant with my children I was a very active person. I loved to work out and stay fit! However, after both of my children were born I was diagnosed asthmatic. It was tough to re-learn how to exercise and…well, stay alive!!! I was also a very busy mommy (my children are 15 months apart) to two adorably active children. They are busy, busy, busy! I also run a daycare during the day, we have up to 25 kids enrolled so I guess you can say I am surrounded by chaos.

I had no time to go to the gym and (honestly) no energy! Eventually I stumbled across Beachbody and learned about the 21 day fix from a friend whom became my coach. She showed me how simple it was to get in shape and do it on my time and in a way that was effective because it is nutrition+exercise combined.

It mapped out exactly what to do to get results and live a healthy lifestyle! It showed me exactly what to eat, how much and how often and that I didn’t need to spend hours at the gym. For the first time in my life, I experienced freedom in my mind because I didn’t have to count calories or waste hours on an elliptical.

IMG_49355884928919

I have finished two rounds of the 21 day fix which has given me so much energy and has shown me that living a healthy lifestyle is so much easier than I ever thought possible.

Today I typically spend 15-60 minutes working out from home, the programs I use are Les Mills Combat, Piyo, 21 day fix, p90x and 10-minute trainer. My daily schedule consists of waking up at 7am, sneaking into the living room while the kids are snoozing, popping in my favorite program and getting it done before anyone else wakes up!

IMG_49085393430390

For me making the effort to better myself and have some quality alone time makes my family life so much better! I have more patience, energy, I am clear-headed and in general I am so much happier.

For me this alone time is so necessary, and I truly believe every mom out there should prescribe to this because I think as moms and wives and homemakers we spend so much time caring for others that we totally forget to care for ourselves! Don’t fall into that trap! You are very important!

IMG_49334461672398

IMG_48928376889883

As far as nutrition goes, this is where I struggle the most. I lead a mostly clean diet, for myself, my boyfriend and my children. We stay away from processed foods and try and stick to organic fruits and vegetables and lean meat. We avoid sugar and aim to only eat naturally occurring sugars like in fruit and vegetables.

What I loved about the 21 day fix is that is truly taught me exactly what to eat and how much!

I manage the stresses of cooking by preplanning my meals at least a day in advance. If I don’t meal prep and cook the food beforehand then I at least set up the meal by pre-portioning the ingredients and putting it in one spot to grab and go. I mainly cook a few meals ahead of time so I am not spending hours in the kitchen.

This is the most important part of living a healthy lifestyle for me because it is so easy to exercise but you are really only going to see results if you eat right as well. And as a busy mom I have found that preplanning my entire day is key to making it all happen. From when I am going to workout to what I am going to eat and my daily schedule.

I am planning on beginning my own blog that will focus on fitness, diet and motherhood. But for now if you are looking for inspiration, motivation or accountability you can follow me on Facebook and check out my website.

I run monthly accountability groups that focus on a fitness program and healthy diet. Those have been the key to finding success for me!


 

Thanks again Carrie for sharing your weightloss story! What’s your weightloss story?

One thought on “Guest Post: Carrie’s Weight Loss Success Story

  1. Pingback: Excuses: No Time to Exercise | Home is Where the Heart is

Leave a Reply

